dr congo name squad for african cup of nations finals

DR Congo Name Squad For African Cup Of Nations Finals

Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), a country in Central Africa, has named the squad for the African Cup of Nations finals. Chancel Mbemba, a Congolese professional footballer who plays as a center-back for Ligue 1 club Marseille and serves as captain for the DR Congo national team, will captain the squad during the finals. 

Chancel Mbemba was named in a 24-man squad for the tournament in Ivory Coast, a West African country. Sébastien Desabre, a French professional football manager, who is the current manager of DR Congo, confirmed the squad for the African Cup of Nations.

DR Congo named squad for African Cup Of Nations finals

DR Congo has named a 24-man squad for the tournament in Ivory Coast. DR Congo have been drawn in a group alongside Morocco, Zambia and Tanzania.


Dimitri Bertaud (Montpellier), Lionel Mpasi (Rodez), Baggio Siadi (TP Mazembe)


Dylan Batubinsika (Saint Etienne), Henock Inonga (Simba, Tanzanie), Gedeon Kalulu (Lorient), Brian Bayeye (Ascoli), Rocky Bushiri (Hibernians), Joris Kayembe (Racing Genk), Arthur Masuaku (Besiktas), Chancel Mbemba (Marseille)


Theo Bongonda (Spartak Moscow), Samuel Moutousamy (Nantes), Charles Pickel (Cremonese), Aaron Tshibola (Al Hatta), Grady Diangana (West Bromwich Albion), Gael Kakuta (Amiens), Edo Kayembe (Watford)


Simon Banza (Sporting Braga), Silas Katompa (VfB Stuttgart), Fiston Mayele (Pyramids), Yoane Wissa (Brentford), Cedric Bakambu (Galatasaray), Meschack Elia (Young Boys Berne)

Luton Town striker Pelly Ruddock Mpanzu was not selected to play the match. DR Congo would play the opener against Zambia on 17 January and the group stage would conclude on 24 January.

The 2023 Africa Cup of Nations, or AFCON 2023, is scheduled to take place in January 2024. Nigeria has also secured its place in the prestigious tournament. It will start on January 13, 2024, and will conclude on February 11, 2024.

The qualified teams have expressed happiness after gaining their spots in the upcoming 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) tournament. 

Keep Reading

List of Qualified Teams for AFCON 2023

  1. Algeria
  2. Angola
  3. Burkina Faso
  4. Cameroon
  5. Cape Verde
  6. Ivory Coast (Host)
  7. DR Congo
  8. Egypt
  9. Equatorial Guinea
  10. Gambia
  11. Ghana
  12. Guinea
  13. Guinea-Bissau
  14. Mali
  15. Mauritania
  16. Morocco
  17. Mozambique
  18. Namibia
  19. Nigeria
  20. Senegal (Title Holders)
  21. South Africa
  22. Tanzania
  23. Tunisia
  24. Zambia