afcon 2023 which teams have qualified full details inside

AFCON 2023: Which teams have qualified? Full details inside

The 2023 Africa Cup of Nations, or AFCON 2023, the 34th edition of the biennial African association football tournament organized by Confederation of African Football, will take place in January 2024. The qualified teams have expressed happiness after gaining their spots in the upcoming 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) tournament in Ivory Coast.

Which teams have qualified for AFCON 2023?

Ivory Coast, as the host country, is the first team to secure its place in AFCON 2023. Ivory Coast has been automatically placed in Group A. 

Nigeria, Algeria, Senegal, and Morocco have also secured their spots in the tournament. Recently, Ghana, Angola, and Tanzania have also qualified for the 2023 AFCON. The Gambia also secured a place in the tournament on Sunday night. On Tuesday, Cameroon and Namibia secured their spots in the tournament. 

Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau and Equatorial Guinea have also qualified for AFCON 2023. Senegal will defend its position in the upcoming tournament.

Keep Reading

List of Qualified Teams for AFCON 2023

  1. Algeria
  2. Angola
  3. Burkina Faso
  4. Cameroon
  5. Cape Verde
  6. Ivory Coast (Host)
  7. DR Congo
  8. Egypt
  9. Equatorial Guinea
  10. Gambia
  11. Ghana
  12. Guinea
  13. Guinea-Bissau
  14. Mali
  15. Mauritania
  16. Morocco
  17. Mozambique
  18. Namibia
  19. Nigeria
  20. Senegal (Title Holders)
  21. South Africa
  22. Tanzania
  23. Tunisia
  24. Zambia

How do these teams qualify for AFCON 2023?

The Cameroon national football team, also known as the Indomitable Lions, secured a place in next year’s TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) after defeating Burundi 3-0 in Garoua, a port city and the capital of the North Region of Cameroon, on Tuesday. 

Bryan Mbeumo, a professional footballer who plays as a right winger or forward for the Cameroon national team, Christopher Wooh, a professional footballer who plays as a defender for the Cameroon national team, and Vincent Aboubakar, a Cameroonian professional footballer who plays as a striker, helped the team to secure a place at the competition.

With Tuesday’s win, Cameroon joined host nation Ivory Coast at the tournament in January next year.

Namibia gained a spot in Group C to compete in next year’s competition. On Tuesday, Namibia finished at second position with 5 and Burundi missed out by just a point.

In June, Nigeria and Guinea-Bissau made it through Group A. Tanzania qualified for AFCON for the first time since 2019. 

The qualified 24 teams will be put in a group of four in the upcoming AFCON tournament. The tournament will start on January 13, 2024, and will conclude on February 11, 2024.