australia beat south africa to win the women's t20 world cup

Australia beat South Africa to win the Women’s T20 World Cup

Australia won the Women’s T20 World Cup, beating host South Africa by a comfortable 19 runs in the final at Newlands on Sunday. With this victory, Australia has now won six of the eight T20 World Cups played.

Australians batted first and scored 156-6 and then the team shut down South Africa’s batters. Beth Mooney, the Australian cricketer, scored an unbeaten 74 in a total of 156 for six. The South African team finished well short of 137-6. Australia captain Meg Lanning said, “We felt like it was a good score but we had to bowl well. We had to put pressure on South Africa.”

Tazmin Brits scored only 17 runs. Marizanne Kapp hit two boundaries. South African team captain Sune Luus was run out for 2.

Related Posts

Ash Gardner and Grace Harris batted ahead of captain Meg Lanning. Stalwarts Shabnim Ismail and Kapp took wickets of the opponents. Alyssa Healy, the Australian cricketer, was the first wicket to fall for 18. She plays for the Australian women’s national team and New South Wales in domestic cricket. 

Ash Gardner, an Australian cricketer, created some magic in the playground. The Australian team underlined their quality in all facets of the game. 

The ICC (International Cricket Council.) The women’s T20 World Cup 2023 took place between 10 to 26 February in South Africa. Ten teams clashed to win the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup trophy.

The 10 teams were divided into two groups: Group A and Group B. Group A included Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. Group B consists of England, India, Pakistan, West Indies and Ireland. 

The event started on February 10 at Newlands, Cape Town. The final match also took place at the same venue. 

Also Read:- Major queues marked Nigeria’s presidential and parliamentary elections