sa vs aus 2023 odi series temba bavuma to captain south africa

SA vs AUS 2023 ODI series: Temba Bavuma to captain South Africa

South Africa Cricket Board, the governing body for both professional and amateur cricket in South Africa, has announced its squad for the ODI World Cup 2023. Cricket South Africa has selected a 15-member squad, including Temba Bavuma. 

Temba Bavuma has been named as captain of South Africa for the 2023 ODI World Cup. Temba Bavuma will also lead South Africa against Mitchell Marsh’s Australia in a five-match ODI series starting from Thursday.

The five-match ODI series between Australia and South Africa is important for both teams as they gear up for the eagerly anticipated ODI World Cup 2023, which is scheduled to be held in India.

SA vs AUS 2023 ODI series

SA vs AUS 2023 ODI series will start from September 7. The last ODI match will take place on September 17. The first ODI will be played at Kingsmead, Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein. The second ODI will be played on September 9 at Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein. The third ODI will be played on September 12 at Senwes Park, Potchefstroom. The fourth ODI will be played on September 15 at SuperSport Park, Centurion.

South Africa’s squad

Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Aiden Markram, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs (wicket-keeper), Rassie van der Dussen, Dewald Brevis, Marco Jansen, Gerald Coetzee, Bjorn Fortuin, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi.

Keep Reading

Australia’s squad

Mitchell Marsh (captain), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Pat Cummins, Nathan Ellis, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis (wicket-keeper), Spencer Johnson, Tanveer Sangha, Marnus Labuschagne, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

World Cup 2023

The 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup is scheduled to be held in India from 5 October to 19 November 2023. It will be the 13th edition of the Cricket World Cup hosted by India. 

Ten teams will participate in the tournament to win the trophy. The final match will take place at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad, on 19 November 2023.

South Africa’s World Cup squad

South Africa Cricket Board named Bavuma as captain. The 15-member South Africa’s squad for the World Cup 2023 also includes fast bowler Gerald Coetzee, spinner Keshav Maharaj, as well as experienced batsmen like Reeza Hendricks, Quinton de Kock, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, Rassie van der Dussen, and David Miller. 

Squad details

Temba Bavuma (captain), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Janssen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Sisanda Magala, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen.