T20 WC: Why South Africa was rewarded five penalty runs?

T20 WC: Why South Africa was rewarded five penalty runs?

In the T20 World Cup 2022 encounter against Bangladesh on Thursday, the South African cricket team received a bonus of 5 runs. Because of what happened during South Africa’s batting innings’ 11th over, when Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan was bowling, the extra runs were assessed as a penalty. 

A significant misunderstanding that arose prior to the commencement of the 12th over led the umpires to confer, at which point the bowling side was chastised and 5 runs were given to the batting side.

The wicket-keeper Nurul Hasan moved while Shakib Al Hasan was about to deliver the ball, and the Bangla Tigers were penalised as a result by the umpire. The wicketkeeper is prohibited from moving during the bowler’s run-up by the regulations.

After 11 overs, South Africa had a score of 112/1, however, before the start of the 12th over, 5 runs had been added to their total, bringing their score to 117/1.

The Proteas received a penalty earlier in South Africa vs. Zimbabwe game after the ball brushed wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock’s glove, which was resting on the ground behind the stumps. But this time, the Proteas team received the prize.

With the help of their five penalty runs against Bangladesh, South Africa amassed 205/5 in just 20 overs. The South African team’s standout batter, Rilee Rossouw, scored an incredible 109 runs off only 56 balls.

Quinton de Kock contributed a crucial inning of 63 runs off 38 balls as well, helping South Africa reach an enormous total.