spencer johnson and matt short to debut in south africa t20

Spencer Johnson and Matt Short to debut in South Africa T20

Spencer Johnson, an Australian cricketer who plays domestically for South Australia, and Matt Short, who plays for the Adelaide Strikers in the Big Bash League, are set to debut in the T20I match against the South African team on 30 August.

The first match between Australia and South Africa is scheduled to be played at Kingsmead in Durban, a coastal city in eastern South Africa, on Wednesday. 

Cricket Australia announced that Spencer Johnson, Matt Short and Aaron Hardie will make their debut in the T20 match against South Africa. 

Aaron Hardie had previously been named in Australia’s preliminary World Cup squad. However, he was ruled out of the tournament due to injury. 

Australia T20I squad

Mitchell Marsh (c), Sean Abbott, Tim David, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Ben Dwarshuis, Nathan Ellis, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Matt Short, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

South Africa T20I squad

Aiden Markram (c), Temba Bavuma, Matthew Breetzke, Dewald Brevis, Gerald Coetzee, Donovan Ferreira, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Lizaad Williams, Rassie van der Dussen

T20I schedule for South Africa-Australia series

1st T20I – August 30 at Kingsmead, Durban

2nd T20I – September 1 at Kingsmead, Durban

3rd T20I – September 3 at Kingsmead, Durban

ODI schedule for South Africa-Australia series

1st ODI – September 7 at Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein

2nd ODI – September 9 at Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein

3rd ODI – September 12 at Senwes Park, Potchefstroom

4th ODI – September 15 at SuperSport Park, Centurion

5th ODI – September 17 at Wanderers, Johannesburg

Keep Reading

Team Australia

Australia will be led by a new captain, Mitchell Marsh. Matt Short will open the innings with Travis Head, an Australian international cricketer. Glenn Maxwell will not play because of the injury. Matthew Wade has replaced him. Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Cameron Green and David Warner are not part of the T20 squad. 

SA vs AUS prediction

The Australian team won the T20 World Cup in 2021. Matthew Wade, who has represented the Australian national team as wicket-keeper and batsman in all three forms of international cricket, played an important role in winning the T20 World Cup. 

Matthew Wade can play an important role in the upcoming match. He can help other team members to secure the victory.

Temba Bavuma and Matthew Breetzke can help South Africa in the upcoming match. Temba Bavuma has played well for the team in recent months. 

Fans can expect 200 plus runs.