niger, burkina faso, mali forms military alliance

Niger, Burkina Faso, Mali forms military alliance

Three landlocked countries in West Africa: Burkina Faso, Niger and Mali have formed a military alliance. The three countries’ foreign ministers have announced the formation of the alliance.

The junta of Niger seized power in a military coup on July 26. The rulers of Burkina Faso and Mali also seized power in a military coup. Under the alliance, Mali and Burkina Faso will provide military assistance to Niger.

When the military of Niger seized power in a coup, the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), a regional political and economic union of 15 countries in West Africa, slammed them. The Economic Community of West African States also launched a standby force to help democratically elected President Mohamed Bazoum.

The group told the junta to restore peace in the country. The regional bloc also agreed on a “D-day” to begin a military intervention, saying that the use of force would be the “last resort.”

The African Union (AU), an union consisting of 55 member states located on the continent of Africa, also suspended Niger from the bloc. The group said that Niger would remain suspended until peace is restored in the country. The AU also urged the coup leaders to release President Mohamed Bazoum. 

Keep Reading

The AU said in a statement, “We strongly reject any external interference by any party or country in the affairs of the continent.”

The Peace and Security Council held a meeting in Addis Ababa, the capital and largest city of Ethiopia, to make the final decision. 

Many western countries also cut aid to Niger in response to the coup ousting President Mohamed Bazoum’s government.

Recently, ECOWAS also refused a proposal by Niger’s military government to hold elections within three years.

Niger, Mali and Burkina Faso said that any military intervention by ECOWAS would be considered a “declaration of war” against their countries.